HOME   News   Reviews   Adv Search   Features   My DVD   About   Apps   Stats     Search:
  Directed by
  • Full Frame
  • Dual Layer (RSDL )
  • English: Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround
  • English: DTS 5.1 Surround
  • None
    The Main Event
    Roadshow Entertainment/Roadshow Entertainment . R4 . COLOR . 159 mins . G . PAL


    Put three of Australia's vocal talents in the same room together, sell tickets for a packed audience and then get them to perform their greatest hits and you've got a recipe for an excellent show. John "I sacked my cleaning lady" Farnham, Olivia "I shagged Travolta" Newton-John and Anthony "this acid is burning my face" Warlow are those select three that have stood the supposed test of time.

    With each singer performing their own signature songs with a supporting orchestral score and then providing duets amongst each other it is a collection of favourites that should keep any and all fans entertained for more than two hours. Having Farnham and Warlow sing a duet of You've Lost That Loving Feeling is 'interesting' to say the least. Fortunately Olivia turns up in the second verse to help rectify the scariness factor.

    The track listing is as follows:

    1. Overture
    2. Age Of Reason
    3. Phantom Of The Opera
    4. A Little More Love
    5. Age Of Reason

    6. Prologue
    7. Music Of The Night
    8. What Kind Of Fool Am I / World On A String/ I've Got You Under My Skin
    9. This Is The Moment

    10. Magic
    11. If You Love Me
    12. Precious Love
    13. Hopelessly Devoted To You

    14. That's Freedom
    15. And I Love Her
    16. Burn For You
    17. Everytime You Cry
    18. Have A Little Faith

    19. Don't Cry For Me Argentina

      Olivia And John
    20. Please Don't Ask Me
    21. You're The One That I Want
    22. Two Strong Hearts

      Olivia And Anthony
    23. Not Gonna Give In To It
    24. The Long And Winding Road
    25. Country Road
    26. I Honestly Love You
    27. Love Is A Gift

      John And Anthony
    28. Help
    29. That's Life / Bad Habits
    30. Granada

    31. You've Lost That Loving Feeling
    32. Summer Nights
    33. If Not For You
    34. Let Me Be There
    35. Touch Of Paradise
    36. Raindrops
    37. Banks Of The Ohio
    38. Jolene
    39. Hearts On Fire
    40. Don't You Know It's Magic

    41. You're The Voice

      Special Bonus
    42. Backstage At The Main Event

    The concert was recorded live at Melbourne Park, Victoria on December 8th, 1998.


    Produced for television and video, this DVD captures the performance exceptionally well and is going to look better than any TV broadcast or VHS version. The full frame transfer renders beautifully onto DVD with rich colours provided by the extravagant stage lighting - reds, blues and whites being your typical fare. Blacks are superb, sharpness and detail produce a very clean image and video noise is limited if there's any present at all. This has to be one of the better video sources transferred to DVD of late.

    On the audio side, Roadshow has given us a 5.1 mix of the event in both Dolby Digital and DTS soundtracks with both sounding exceptional and truly capturing the event. Vocals for all three singers are excellent to listen to and the forty piece orchestra is a great way to backup these talents. My preference leans toward the DTS soundtrack, which shines in its richness and range whereas the Dolby track seems a little harsher in the higher end of the frequency spectrum.

    Extras-wise we are given a behind the scenes chapter where the three provide semi-interviews, showcase their off stage antics and mingle with other great singers such as Kylie Minogue and Michael Crawford.

    One for the fans, and one that will keep them happy.

  • LINK: http://www.dvd.net.au/review.cgi?review_id=764
  • Send to a friend.
  • Do YOU want to be a DVDnet reviewer? If so, click here

    Cast your vote here: You must enable cookies to vote.
  •   And I quote...
    "One for the fans, and one that will keep them happy."
    - Steve Koukoulas
      Review Equipment
    • DVD Player:
          Playstation 2
    • TV:
          Hitachi CMT2979 68cm
    • Receiver:
          Onkyo TX-DS777 THX Select
    • Speakers:
          VAF Signature I-91
    • Centre Speaker:
          VAF Signature I-91
    • Surrounds:
          VAF Signature I-91
    • Subwoofer:
          VAF LFE-07
    • Audio Cables:
          Standard Optical
    • Video Cables:
          standard s-video
      Recent Reviews:
    by Steve Koukoulas

    Star Wars: Clone Wars - Volume 1
    "... created for the Cartoon Network, made their way onto starwars.com in small quicktime versions and are now available on DVD."

    The Fifth Element - Collectors Edition
    "a truly special edition"

    Duel - Special Edition
    "Duel is easily the best bang-for-your-buck suspense car-chase, truck hounded thriller ever ... a must have for Spielberg and suspense fans."

    Dodgeball - Uncut
    "Sometimes the simplest of ideas for a movie pay off the best."

    Ultimate Matrix Collection (10 Disc Box Set)
    "If no-one can be told what the Matrix is, this Ultimate collection edition is the closest you're going to get to finding out."

      Related Links
      None listed


    Search for Title/Actor/Director:
    Google Web dvd.net.au
       Copyright DVDnet. All rights reserved. Site Design by RED 5